Mare Magic

My 7 year old mare can be a bit of a “witch” especially when she is in heat. She acts crabby and irritated and pins her ears at everything so I got online and did some research on a product called Mare Magic. Mare Magic is an all natural herbal supplement made from raspberry leaves that is supposed to make mares calmer and less irritated. Other horses owners had reviewed it on various websites and said it works on their mares. I figured it was worth a try since it was easier to administer (one scoop a day on her feed) and less costly then Regu-Mate.

So I ordered it online and tried it for 60 days. It consisted of finely chopped green leaves that smelled a bit like alfalfa and raspberries. First of all it was easy to administer and my mare had no problem eating it when mixed with her grain but as time went on I did not really notice any change in her at all. She still pinned her ears and acted crabby. So I can honestly say the product did not work for me and my mare. I guess I will have to put her on Regu-Mate, which I know from past experiences with 4 other mares, works wonders.

If you have a mare and are curious to give it a try you can purchase it online from www.smartpakequine.com ($16.95 for an 8 oz bag), www.kvvet.com ($14.95 for an 8 oz bag) and www.valleyvet.com ($15.95 for an 8 oz bag). Let me know how it works for you.

My mare J-Lo (Slightly Thrilled) in our indoor arena, that tried Mare Magic, sorry it is not a great pic I am not a horse photographer.

photo-13

From The Saddle Ranking: 1 out of 4 Horseshoes

1 Comment

Filed under Horses, Life, Riding

One response to “Mare Magic

  1. Emily

    have you tried Quietex? I use it on my mares and it works great.

Leave a Reply

