Silver Lining

As I was flipping through SmartPak’s newest catalog I was intrigued by EquiFit’s AgSilver Clean Bucket. The AgSilver Clean Bucket is infused with ionic silver that helps control bacterial growth and bucket slime. According to EquiFit’s testing, one to two months time can lapse between bucket scrubbings and that during side to side tests horses preferred drinking out of the AgSilver Clean Bucket.

I was a tad skeptical but as I mentioned above I was also very intrigued, so I added one to my order of horse supplements and as soon as it arrived began testing it to see if their claims were accurate. I decided to try it in Awesome’s stall (IB Awesome, one of my dad’s cutting horses) because she is a hay dunker. She takes a bite of hay from her feeder and then walks over to her water bucket and dunks it in the water. As you can imagine her bucket is usually super gross and slimy and has to be dumped and scrubbed every day.

After five days her bucket remained clean and slime free once the hay filled water was dumped as opposed to her next door neighbor’s bucket (who is also a hay dunker), that has to be dumped and scrubbed everyday to remove the slime. After ten days the AgSilver Clean Bucket has remained slime free. It truly does live up to it’s claims.

However, the cost of the AgSilver Clean Bucket ($29.95) is pretty high compared to a normal horse bucket ($8.95). If you only have one or two horses that you board or are in training and you want to insure their water buckets stay clean then I would recommend buying the AgSilver Clean Bucket but to fill a whole barn with them may be a bit to expensive when you can just invest in a scrub brush. AgSilver Clean Bucket available at www.equifit.net and www.smartpakequine.com.

From The Saddle Ranking: 3 out of 3 Horseshoes

2 Comments

Filed under Horses, Life, Riding

2 responses to “Silver Lining

  1. I’ve never heard of these before! They sound pretty awesome. I love your very scientific comparison of the two buckets! Great job. =)

  2. Such a good review of a product I didn’t know existed. I LOVE that catalog. You should send this review over to Liz at http://equineproductsreview.com. She has a great site and I”m sure would appreciate the information.

Leave a Reply

